SA Reefkeeping.com

Quick Search

Go Advanced

Member Login

Remember Me? Not registered? | Forgot Password
 
Register
Welcome
 
SA Reefkeeping.com > Livestock Zone > Corals > SPS Corals » Acropora too much light?
SPS Corals For all those acropora, montipora and related SPS coral freaks

Reply
Old 16-04-2012   #1
Selwyn123
Selwyn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Port Elizabeth
Posts: 312
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Acropora too much light?

I have a acro 25cm under a MH 150W, is it too close to the light? Im seeing little die back, don't know if it is maybe just the move.
Selwyn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2012   #2
Gills
Gills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Durbanville Cape Town
Posts: 780
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Acro's need time to adjust to the new conditions and should be on the bottom of your tank to start. After a week or two, you can move it up a little higher, then another week before you bang it under the light. Also check your ALK, 8dKH to 9dKH are good numbers. I take about 4 weeks with new acros before they reach their final spot.
__________________
When cleaning my tank: 1% Cleaning
30% Complaining
69% Playing with stuff I just found
Gills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012   #3
Selwyn123
Selwyn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Port Elizabeth
Posts: 312
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
ok, i moved it back to the bottom of the tank, will move it more up in about a week. thanks
Selwyn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012   #4
Selwyn123
Selwyn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Port Elizabeth
Posts: 312
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
the acro is dieng fast, i can already see the brown fading tio white, can i do? i did a 15% water change yesterday.
Selwyn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012   #5
Gills
Gills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Durbanville Cape Town
Posts: 780
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Sounds too late! Best is to frag what ever is left. If you lucky, you will get one or two frags to make it. Never a good feeling to loose sps. PM me your details, then I can hook you up with something else.
__________________
When cleaning my tank: 1% Cleaning
30% Complaining
69% Playing with stuff I just found
Gills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012   #6
gixxerk4
gixxerk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 3,392
Thanks: 6
Thanked 31 Times in 26 Posts
Selwyn what are your water parameters like? Ca? Alk? Placing an acro up too high would more than likely result in some bleaching as the coral wouldn't have had enough time to adjust to the light output.
__________________
My 1.3m SPS dominated piece of the ocean

1.3m x 0.9m x 0.6m Starfire tank | Pacific Sun Metis Hyperion R2 3x150w LED | 2 x Tunze 6105 on 7092 controller | 2 x Vortech Mp40w ES on Vortech battery backup | ATI Bubblemaster 250 skimmer | DIY Calcium Reactor | Vertex 3.0L Zeo Reactor

"Only bad things happen fast in this hobby..."
gixxerk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012   #7
Parraman
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bellville
Posts: 1,099
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I lost a few sps colonies from bleaching. Tried fragging and only 3 frags of about 14 made it.
With a other sps that was allso bleaching i just cut off the part that was bleaching about 1 cm down from the bleached area and the sps made it. Has anyone else tried this?
Parraman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
acropora , light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off